Vehicle Registration Tags and Titles
If you meet Florida's residency requirements, you are required by law to title and
register your vehicle with the State of Florida. If you are not sure if you qualify,
please refer to Section 320.01 F.S. Motor vehicle registrations and decals are renewable
up to three months in advance.
Florida law requires all four-wheel motorized vehicles to be insured by a licensed
Florida agent. Current proof of Florida insurance is required by the Tax Collector's
office prior to the issuance of a registration, tag and/or decal. If you have any
insurance questions, please visit the Florida
Department of Insurance
Florida residents, on military assignment outside of Florida, are not required to
submit proof of Florida insurance coverage. This exemption does not apply to vehicles
registered solely in the name of a non-military
spouse or dependent(s)
of the military member. The military member must provide the following:
- An out-of-state address for the Florida registration certificate.
- One of the following must be submitted as proof of current military assignment out
- Copy of military orders, or
- An affidavit from the military member's commanding officer that confirms the military
orders and the date of the assignment.
- Military insurance exemption information form (must show proof of insurance from
other than Fla.)
- An affidavit stating the motor vehicle is maintained at the state of posting
and will not be operated in the state of Florida except in a transient
Section 320.072, Florida Statutes, requires a $225 fee to be imposed upon the initial
application for registration on certain new and used motor vehicle registrations.
This "new wheels" fee is collected by the Tax Collector's Office for the Division
of Motor Vehicles. This fee is due on any automobile registered for private-use,
any lightweight truck or any motor home unless the vehicle being registered is a
replacement for a vehicle that has been disposed of. In this case, the registered
owner must sign a vehicle disposal affidavit.
Change in Registration and Decal Appearance
Florida's vehicle registration and decals are changing. Please visit the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
web site for more information
and a list of frequently asked questions.
Personalized license plates may be issued to most motor vehicle owners or lessees.
Applications must be submitted to the Tax Collector’s office to ensure that obscene
or objectionable choices are not granted. The cost for personalized plates is $15
per year plus the regular fees. Applications may be submitted at any time, but please
allow at least 45 days to manufacture the new plates. Plates are only issued for
the current registration period unless you apply during the 3 month advance registration
Do you want to know how the Florida lemon law works? If so please follow this link:
The highway patrol also provides information designed to protect consumers from
purchasing a lemon at http://www.hsmv.state.fl.us/dmv/usedcar.html
For additional information relating to vehicle registration, driver licenses, driver
license handbooks, legal updates and related information, visit the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles